The same procedure. A different person deciding.
A paramedic decompresses a chest on their own authority in one county and telephones a physician for permission in the next. Both crews trained to the same national standard. Comparing 190 agencies’ protocol books across 44 states shows how far that reaches, and it reaches further than the procedure list does.
“Depends” is a real answer, not a muddle. Those books give BOTH answers for the same procedure — a standing order in one presentation, a call to a physician in another, most often cardiac arrest against everything else. Counting such an agency on both sides would make the columns add up to more agencies than exist, and picking a side for it would invent a policy its book does not have. So it is counted once, here. The book names the procedure and does not say on whose authority. That is a reading of a real page, not a gap — so it is counted and shown, never folded into either answer.
Where agencies disagree about who decides
27 of 33 procedures in the vocabulary are contested: enough agencies commit to each single answer that neither is one document’s habit. Ordered by how many agencies took a side, so the best-evidenced disagreements sit at the top. Every agency appears in exactly one column of a row, and the four columns add up to the agencies naming that procedure.
| Procedure | Agencies naming it | Standing order | Contact required | Depends | Not stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12-lead ECG acquisition and transmission | 170 | 22 | 86 | 34 | 28 |
| Supraglottic airway | 158 | 34 | 73 | 19 | 32 |
| CPAP / BiPAP (non-invasive ventilation) | 162 | 30 | 70 | 40 | 22 |
| Intraosseous access | 176 | 27 | 71 | 57 | 21 |
| Transcutaneous pacing | 146 | 33 | 65 | 11 | 37 |
| Needle chest decompression | 148 | 32 | 60 | 31 | 25 |
| Synchronized cardioversion | 136 | 26 | 65 | 14 | 31 |
| Endotracheal intubation | 164 | 21 | 69 | 54 | 20 |
| Tourniquet application | 158 | 21 | 69 | 24 | 44 |
| Spinal motion restriction / selective clearance | 153 | 22 | 66 | 18 | 47 |
| Surgical cricothyrotomy | 126 | 20 | 61 | 5 | 40 |
| Field termination of resuscitation | 115 | 15 | 57 | 11 | 32 |
| Hemostatic dressing / wound packing | 122 | 34 | 38 | 15 | 35 |
| Mechanical CPR device | 106 | 25 | 32 | 9 | 40 |
| Mechanical ventilation (transport ventilator) | 101 | 14 | 39 | 7 | 41 |
| Nasogastric / orogastric tube | 89 | 19 | 33 | 2 | 35 |
| Manual defibrillation | 77 | 14 | 32 | 3 | 28 |
| Physical restraint | 71 | 9 | 34 | 2 | 26 |
| Pelvic binder | 73 | 15 | 27 | 4 | 27 |
| Rapid / delayed sequence intubation | 96 | 6 | 36 | 15 | 39 |
| Central venous access / existing central line use | 75 | 15 | 27 | 10 | 23 |
| Blood product administration | 58 | 9 | 27 | 9 | 13 |
| External jugular IV | 57 | 14 | 21 | 1 | 21 |
| Needle cricothyrotomy / transtracheal jet insufflation | 57 | 13 | 19 | 0 | 25 |
| Obstetric delivery maneuvers | 48 | 10 | 19 | 0 | 19 |
| Chest tube / finger thoracostomy | 42 | 9 | 18 | 0 | 15 |
| Meconium / deep tracheal suctioning | 41 | 12 | 9 | 2 | 18 |
These columns do not add up to a national picture, and should not be read as one. They count the agencies whose published book we have read. An agency absent from a row did not decline the procedure — it is simply not in the corpus, or its book does not name the procedure in words this extractor reads.
Where states disagree at the same certification level
This is the one comparison in the census where a no is publishable. 6 states publish a real competency matrix — every skill against every certification level, each cell ticked or not — and an unticked cell in an enumeration like that is the state saying no, not the document being quiet. Below are the 15 skills where two of those states, at the same level, give opposite answers.
| Skill, as the state names it | Level | What each state’s matrix says |
|---|---|---|
| Acetaminophen | EMT | NC yes NV yes UT no VA no |
| Acetaminophen | AEMT | NC no NV yes UT yes |
| Albuterol | EMT | NV no UT yes VA yes |
| Amiodarone | AEMT | NC no NV no UT yes |
| Acetaminophen | EMR | NC yes UT no |
| Atropine | AEMT | NC no UT yes |
| Diazepam | AEMT | NV no UT yes |
| Glucose, oral | EMR | NC yes UT no |
| Hydroxocobalamin | AEMT | NV no UT yes |
| Intranasal | EMT | MA yes MS no |
| Lidocaine | AEMT | NV no UT yes |
| Midazolam | AEMT | NV no UT yes |
| Pulse Oximetry | EMR | MS no NC yes |
| Rectal | Paramedic | MA yes MS no |
| Subcutaneous | AEMT | MA yes MS no |
Skills are matched on the state’s own wording, so this table undercounts: one state’s “Cardiac Pacing” and another’s “Transcutaneous Pacing” are the same skill and will not pair here. An instrument that can only miss disagreements is the right way round for this question. 2 further states (OR, SD) publish scope as prose rather than a matrix. Nothing they leave out appears here as a no, because a list of what a level may do is not a list of what it may not.
What a certification level is, and when we cannot tell you
2,533 of 5,419 readings name the level that may perform the procedure. The rest split into two groups that this page refuses to pool, because they are not the same fact:
- Not stated — 2,886 readings
- The page names the procedure and never names a level. We could not read the answer, so we do not print one. This is an absence of evidence in our reading, not a statement by the agency.
- Set elsewhere by design — none in this build
- The document deliberately declines to set the tier. Michigan prints one statewide protocol and each local Medical Control Authority ticks a box for which level may perform the skill, so the answer is not missing from the page — the page is telling you the answer is set somewhere else. No reading in the current extract carries that flag, so the page shows none. It is kept here, and counted separately the moment one appears, because the distinction is the point: a document that declines to set a tier has said something, and folding it into “not stated” would throw it away.
What this page will never tell you
We publish what a protocol book SAYS. A procedure missing from an agency's book is missing from that book — it is not evidence the agency does not do it. A protocol is not a scope of practice, and nothing on this page should be read as one.
Nowhere on this page does an agency appear as not doing something. The census reads what books say, and a protocol book is written to guide care, not to enumerate a scope of practice: it can omit a procedure the crew performs daily under a separate policy, a state rule or a medical director’s standing memo. The only negatives we publish are the state matrix cells above, and they are negatives because a matrix is an enumeration — it lists every skill and every level and ticks the boxes, so an unticked box is the document speaking.
How far this reaches
190 agencies across 44 states, of roughly 26,883 licensed EMS agencies we count nationally. That is a sample, and a sample chosen by which agencies publish their protocols in a readable form — which is not a random slice of American EMS. Read every count here as “of the books we have read”, never as “of the country”.
Every reading carries the document and the page it came from, and is rebuilt from the source documents on each run rather than edited in place.
Open the protocol census · How these books change over time · Census methodology